Shake it off…shake it offf

Have you ever heard something bad about yourself and just let it eat you from the inside out?  Even if that something isn’t true, just to know someone thought something negative about you, it’s almost more than you can handle.

Yesterday, I came across some information that listed some feedback about me.  When I first read it, I was immediately so mad.  How dare they say things about me that:

  1.  weren’t true
  2. were hurtful
  3. and were just downright mean spirited

I really stewed on these comments for quite awhile.  It started to have a damper on how my day was going.  I’m not one who usually stews about things.  Usually things just roll off my shoulders without much thought (which drives my husband crazy) but for some reason, this was sticking with me.

I had to have a pep talk with myself and reminded myself that it really doesn’t matter what one person thinks.  If I was as bad as I was made out to be, I wouldn’t have a job, family or friends because who would want to be around me.

It reminded me that I need to just shake it off and move on.  I do need to probably keep my sarcasm in check sometimes because apparently some people don’t understand sarcasm, but as long as I’m being the best me I can be, I’ll shake it off and move on.

2 thoughts on “Shake it off…shake it offf

  1. dawnlizjones says:

    Way to go! I so agree, harsh words (other then truly constructive criticism, which is an art in itself) not only sticks with us, but tends to stick TO us. And like tree sap, it’s makes everything we touch stick with us also. So yeah! Wash it off!

Leave a Reply

