Smiling through it all

One of my dear friends mentioned that I haven’t blogged in awhile.

Where have I been?

For the past seven months, my life has kind of fallen apart.  I say that with a smile on my face.  Our family has gone through a rough patch of life but those things happen.

In the fall, I had carpal tunnel surgery.  It needed to happen, it was a success, I’m moving on and still getting stronger every day.

In 6 months time, between Blake and I, we lost 3 grandmas.  The silver lining of this is that we were able to have those lovely ladies for over 35 years of our lives.  Many of our friends haven’t had that experience.  Although we miss them terribly and I still pick up the phone to call my grandma all the time, it’s the circle of life.  I never would have dreamt that my kids would be able to tell their kids about their great-grandmas some day and my kids are old enough that they will have memories.  For that I am grateful.

Blake had some serious medical issues happening in February.  We are still getting all our ducks in a row but I’m happy to report that he is back to his old self (for the most part).  Figuring out what the new normal looks like.  I was explaining to Paige the other day that yes, there is a chance he could get sick again but this time, we have the right doctors, the right hospital, the right medicines.  The scary part is the unknown.  I’m thankful for God opening the doors we needed opened and I’m super thankful for technology and medical researchers who continue to find cures for horrible diseases our loved ones have to fight.

We are ready for a normal, boring routine of life to find us again.  With that all being said, we now have 2 kids who know how to ride their bikes and one more day care payment before summer and kindergarten.

I think the thing I’ve learned through all of our exciting times is that many people walk through life with a smile and are hurting inside.  Maybe they’re hurting physically or maybe their world is crumbling around them.  All around us people are hurting.

Be aware.

Maybe someone bit your head off at work but it really has nothing to do with you.

Maybe someone cut you off when you were driving because they had a lot on their mind.

We live in a self-centered world.  I’m learning to be more mindful of people around me.  If only everyone would try this, think how wonderful the world would be.

the quieter you become the more you can hear [explored]

Leave a Reply

