Relieving the stress

After a rather exhausting day at the office, I have been know to have less patience than normal with my own children. That’s one of the downfalls of working in education. If the students were particularly unruly that day, my kids sometimes get a not-so-pleasant mom at home.

I’ve been known to warn the kids. “I’ve had kids not listen to me all day. If you don’t listen, it’s not going to be good.”

I realize that this is not fair to my own kids. My “parent of the year” approach to keeping my cool on these days lately is to declare it a Netflix day and let the kids enjoy some down time, while I try to de-stress.

This was all working well today. Did I mention that a day full of teaching 6th graders how to log on to the computers for the first time is one of the most stressful things imaginable?

We all chilled out for awhile and then I cooked a real dinner for the third night in a row…what is happening to me?

The crazy hit the fan when my picky-eater Parker refused to eat a meal that I know he loves and turned it into a giant tantrum. Nothing makes you feel more awesome than when your son makes a face and says “gross!” as he comes to the table.

Fast forward to Parker getting to spend some quality time in his room and Paige and Blake went outside to work in the yard.

I got a random thought and sat down at the piano. I play at church every once in awhile but I haven’t sat down to play for me in a long time. Before I knew it, I was feeling a lot calmer and I think Parker was calmer too now that I think of it.

Why do I always forget how the piano has always been a stress reliever for me? Hopefully in the future I will remember that and feel better sooner.

PS…at 9:00 tonight Parker finally got hungry and decided he actually does like ravioli and finished his dinner. Of course he does, I made it especially for him.

Leave a Reply

