Mounds of school papers

I don’t know if you are like me but the amount of paperwork my kid brings home from school is overwhelming. If I’m not careful, I could be buried alive in all the papers.

One of my goals for summer real was to get all the paperwork that was clogging up my hall closet organized and to get a routine that is manageable.

I came across a system that I thought would work for me. I love the website A Bowl Full of Lemons and when I read this post I knew I had a winner.

I had my husband get down the tubs of of saved papers out of the top of the closet so that I could get started. That’s right I had 2+ tubs of papers, drawings and cards and Paige is just going in 2nd grade. At the rate we were going, we would have to build on to the house to keep all the stuff that comes home from school and church.

As I was getting started organizing, Paige just had to look at everything. That was her first mistake. I took her interest and ran with it. She sat for over an hour dividing things into two piles: keep and trash. I was impressed. She really did a great job of deciding what was important and what wasn’t

20130729-150349.jpg

I’m not going to lie, it was a grueling 3 hours and my living room still looks kind of like a tornado hit but the papers are all organized or trashed.

Here’s the finished product…

20130729-150606.jpg

I wanted containers that closed like in this post but our Walmart did not have a great selection and I’m not headed to a real town for awhile. I might change it out sometime but for now I’m happy.

I made files for each year of school and anything else that my kids accumulate. I’m sure there will be some adjustments and additions but it’s a start and I think it will make life a lot happier when school starts again in a few weeks.

So go over to A Bowl Full of Lemons and have fun getting organized!

One thought on “Mounds of school papers

Leave a Reply

