End of an Era

For the last 9 years, every morning I have stared at this…

flag

 

and with tears in my eyes, I have said the pledge of allegiance.  As an “Army Sister” I have earned a whole new appreciation for country, our freedom and those who protect it.

Tomorrow will be my last day to say the pledge as an Army Sister.  This summer/fall, my brother will move on to new exciting opportunities.  It has been his journey but my family has learned so much from it.

We have gotten to visit some great places like West Point, Fort Knox, and Fort Carson, just to name a few.  We snuck vacations in around wherever Adam happened to be and even attended military balls.

west point

100_1922 100_1969 28478107610_0_SM 91398107610_0_SM 163895750210_0_BG 479845750210_0_BG 913155750210_0_BG

 

We’ve learned the agony of watching someone you love go away whether just for summer training or for a year deployment, but we have also experienced the complete joy of watching him walk back in after a year away, in one piece.

photo (4) photo (3)

We’ve met some really great guys and their families.  I will never forget my army little brothers and pray for them and their families every day.  The world has lost some pretty great heroes that I had the privilege of meeting.

corma hyde

 

Lessons I’ve learned from being “in the army”:

  • Never laugh at someone’s dreams because you never know what God has in store and anything is possible.  When Adam told us he first wanted to go to West Point, it seemed like such an unlikely dream…
  • Family visits on Survivor episodes don’t make me emotional anymore.  Come on people, they are on an island with cameras, a medical team, and Jeff Probst, they will be okay.
  • I know a lot of army terms and acronyms but still can’t tell you exactly what my brother’s job includes.
  • I’ve developed an understanding and respect for those families who live in the military world.
  • I will never watch a video of a soldier coming home and not cry…no matter what
  • I’ve learned how much I depend on my brother and how much it stinks when he isn’t around to run ideas off of or just vent.
  • We live in a pretty great country no matter what your political views are.  We are blessed and should show our appreciation to all those who put their life on the line so that we can have a great place to live.
  • My brother is stronger than I ever knew.

 

I’m sure there is much more but for now, that’s all I have.

I’m totally looking forward to having my crazy brother and sister-in-law closer to home.  Now off on the next big adventure he has planned for us…

 

One thought on “End of an Era

  1. Toni says:

    Such touching words, Amy. Thank you for sharing! I’m just starting my journey as a Navy Mom. We just got the call a few hours ago that he is an official sailor! And a thank you to your brother for all his years of service!

Leave a Reply

