In One Moment…

I love my job.

With that being said, sometimes I can get in a rut.  I understand that the library is not everyone’s top priority.  (Shocking, but true)  Sometimes it’s easy to get caught up in the little things that annoy me…picking up after other people’s messes, having to stop in the middle of whatever I’m doing to fix someone else’s problems, being the only one in my department and not really fitting in anywhere…all parts of the job but sometimes they can eat at me.

Then a day like today happens and it all makes sense…

Today students had to turn their books in whether they were done or not…it was the big day.

Two of my students really made my whole year by their actions and I’m sure they don’t even know it.

First, a young man who reads constantly…he reads in the lunch line, he reads in the bus line, he reads all the time.  He is an 8th grader and will leave me for the big bad high school next year.  He told one of his teachers last week that he had been staying up late to read because he still had a lot of books left to get finished in the library.  Today he walks in at the end of the day with his last book.  His lip quivers a little as he hands it to me.  I asked him if he finished it and he said no (almost in tears).  I gave it back to him and told him to get it to me tomorrow.  His smile warmed the whole room.

Second student…this girl honestly reads more than anyone I have ever met.  The super cool thing about her is that she reads anything and everything and enjoys it all.  It has truly been an honor to be her librarian for the last three years and I’m pretty bummed that she is leaving me.  I have actually been giving her a hard time about how excited she is about high school.  Anyway, she checked out three big books last night and finished two and a half of them.  When she came in to turn them in today, she kind of lingered at the circulation desk.  We visited for awhile and after a little while, she said, “I just can’t make myself leave.  I’m going to miss this room so much.”

Just two examples of why I love my job.  I will continue to push in chairs and pick up candy trash and love notes because at the end of the day…it’s going to be worth it.

One thought on “In One Moment…

  1. Carla says:

    You are in the right place at the right time if these little things that these kids to makes you catch your breath and you appreciate them 🙂

Leave a Reply

