I’ve come to the conclusion…

I made a decision the other day.

It’s a pretty major decision.

It’s something I’ve been thinking about for quite awhile.

I’ve put a lot of thought into the pros and cons and I think I’ve come up with a decision that is truly how I feel…

I enjoy reading a real book more than an electrical device like a Kindle or iPad.

Now let’s get something straight, I am a technology nerd.  I bought the first Kindle, the first Kindle Fire and last year, finally broke down and got an iPad.  I have read on all of them.

I can read faster on a electronic device and it is the best to be able to pack a small electronic rather than several books when going on a trip.

I’ve also been on a book award committee, the entire time I have had most of these devices so I haven’t really got to choose what I read a lot.

There’s just something about holding a real book and seeing how much further you have to go.  A percentage at the bottom of the screen is not the same thing.

I’m a little nervous to take my iPad into the bathtub…that’s a lot of responsibility.  A regular book isn’t so bad…

I can definitely see some advantages of e-readers and when I get to pick what I read in almost a year, I’m sure I will use my iPad more, but if I really have the choice, I’m going to pick an old-fashioned book any time.

And, by the way, when I’m in a waiting room, airport, pool, really anywhere I see someone reading, it really bothers me that I can’t just look at the cover to see if it’s something I’m familiar with but instead I have to get all stalker on them and ask what they are reading.

I’m a librarian.  I love books.  I’ll stick to Candy Crush on the Ipad.

Which do you prefer?

One thought on “I’ve come to the conclusion…

  1. littlebookblog says:

    I am currently contemplating getting a kindle but I’ve always loved print books! I hate thinking i could forget a really incredible book if I didn’t get it in print copy 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

