Hot Under the Covers

So we have a dual control electric blanket on our bed…What did you think this post was going to be about?  🙂  The controls for each side of the bed goes from 1-8 and the hottest setting is H.  I normally keep my side on 2 if I want to sleep comfortably.  Anything hotter and I am too hot to sleep.

The kids and I like to play a little joke on Blake every now and then.  We like to turn his bed to H without him knowing.  We get a kick out of him realizing that he is close to being able to roast marshmallows on his side of the bed.

Fast forward to Saturday morning…

Paige comes in my bedroom and asked how I liked the surprise she gave me.  I had not idea what she was talking about.  She said she had played a little joke on me.

I blew her off because I had no idea what she was talking about.

Go back to Friday night…

I have been battling back problems since right after Christmas.  I have tried going to the regular doctor for medicine and even went to the chiropractor for the first time in my life this week.  Although that did seem to help, my back started screaming Friday afternoon when I was getting Parker out of his car seat so I had gotten out my prescription of muscle relaxers and took one before I went to bed.

Go back even further…

When my back pain was at the worst, I was taking these muscle relaxers while I was at school and didn’t think they were that strong until I was trying to have a conversation with one of the teachers and he started laughing at me because I was a little dazed.  After that I only took them before bed but didn’t think they had too much of an affect on me.

Fast forward to Saturday morning…

My first day to sleep in for about 3 weeks!  I remember hearing Paige come in my room and feeling like I couldn’t open my eyes if I wanted to or lift my legs for that matter.  I remember having the thought, “This must be what it feels like to be in a coma.”

Moral of the story…

When I asked Paige what kind of joke she played on me, she told me she had set my bed to H on Friday night.  I didn’t believe her until I turned on the blanket on Sunday night and it was on H!  Well the joke was on me because apparently I cooked all night long without once realizing that I was hot.  I think I will be a little more careful when I take those muscle relaxers.  They must relax me a little more than I thought.

Final thought…

Maybe this is a good weight loss strategy for the Biggest Loser contest at school.  If I take one of those pills the night before weigh in and then sweat all night, surely I will lose weight, right?

I’m just kidding…I think.

It is fun to teach the kids to play practical jokes but they definitely need to realize that they are only allowed to play them on people other than their mother.

Leave a Reply

