Organized Chaos

Before Christmas break, I sat down and made a list of all the things I wanted to get accomplished while I was off work and then I just laughed.  I always have big plans but unless I enlist Blake to help me, it normally is just a thought in my head. I don’t know what changed, but somewhere over the break, I got some ambition.  Now normally Blake is the one with OCD that can’t sit but has to be working, cleaning, doing whatever all the time.  (I’m not complaining one bit.)  Well next thing I knew, I had organized all of my kitchen cabinets and then, with the help of Blake, I moved on to the kids’ bedrooms and the toy room.  Boy they were a disaster. I realized as I was cleaning that the more I organized the better I felt.  The more I sold on Bid It, the lighter I felt.  It’s a great feeling! photo (12) Parker had tons of toys in his room but never played with them because they were dumped in his toy box in the closet.  We cleaned out the toy box and organized his toys.  He has been in toy heaven ever since!photo (14)   This shelf I got from a friend and Blake was able to cut off just about an inch from the top so it fits perfectly under Parker’s desk.photo (13)This is one of our cabinets in the kitchen.  Not only did I organize, but I also labeled.  I love my label maker! photo (11)My bathroom drawer is always a mess!  Hello $7 drawer organizer at TJ Maxx, you make me a happy girl! After I had organized just about everything, I started on my menu planning.  (I tell you I might have a medical condition.  It sounds like something on Grey’s Anatomy…girl starts being organized and ends up having an aneurysm). I menu planned for the entire month of January and then, to top it off, I went and bought all the groceries for the meals I am going to make.  Now I’m several days in to the menu and I’m not making exactly what I said I would make on each day but I am picking something off the menu that I already have things bought for. It’s amazing how much smoother my life is when I’m organized.  I know where to find things, I don’t have to think about what to make for dinner.  I have more time for my kids and husband. I’m not bragging, I’m astonished.  This is so unlike me.  I think Blake is beginning to wonder if there is something wrong with me.  I’m even trying to do a load of laundry each day so we don’t have to spend all weekend doing it. So my next goal is to take this organized loveliness to the health part of my life. I’m participating in the Biggest Loser contest at school and it would be nice to get control of that too.  I’m on Day 3 of that plan and doing pretty good.  I hope I can keep it up.

Leave a Reply

