Praying and meaning it

I remember the first time I heard someone mention God’s will in a prayer. Someone I loved was getting ready to head in to surgery. Of course you want her to be fine but what if that’s not God’s plan? It’s a tough deal.

I have had the opportunity to pray for God’s will to be done (nothing as serious as a surgery) in the past few months. I was interested and excited by an opportunity but I really did want to totally trust in God for the outcome. People I shared my journey with were skeptical, even my Christian friends.

I put my trust in God. He knows what’s best for me and my family. He has never let me down before.

The outcome of the situation was revealed this week.

Am I disappointed? Sure. I was excited and had spent a lot of time, energy, and research skills looking in to it.

Am I sad? Maybe a little but my life without the changes is pretty great and filled with great people. Nothing to get too sad about.

Will I be ok? Of course I will. I chose to trust in God. I can’t be mad at Him because His will isn’t mine. That’s like if I asked Blake to be honest with me but then got mad at him for doing so. I think a lot of people pray for God’s will but really only if it matches up with what that person wants.

In the past few months, I have been given peace the moment I prayed for it and that’s a super cool feeling. I have really taken the time to look at my life and see the good in it and what I want to build on.

So I’m going to have a chill out day and get my house in order and my children organized, then I’m moving on.

My challenge to you? When you pray for God’s will, it’s a scary thing. You are giving up control. When He answers your prayers, be OK with it. No second guessing, no what-ifs, just be thankful He answered your prayer even if it’s not the answer you really wanted.

FOR I KNOW THE PLANS I HAVE FOR YOU, DECLARES THE LORD, PLANS TO PROSPER YOU AND NOT TO HARM YOU, PLANS TO GIVE YOU HOPE AND A FUTURE.

How can I argue with that?

One thought on “Praying and meaning it

  1. Jennifer Z says:

    Thank you. It has been sitting in my inbox and I just really felt like I needed to clean out my email. I’m so grateful for God’s timing as I really needed to be reminded of this tonight!

Leave a Reply

