Dog days of summer

I love being in education.  Especially this time of year.

Last night as I was laying in bed, I turned to Blake and apologized for being a bum all day.  Then I took it back.  I’m not sorry.  The way I see it, any of you could have gone into education and you could be a bum right along with me.  (This bum has gotten ready for a garage sale this week and cleaned the house about 45 times so bum is used lightly)

The kids and I are spending time at the pool some days but some days we barely get out of our pajamas.  We are lounging around and steering clear of the 100+ degree weather outside.

The upside of being home is getting to spend so much time with my kids.  Let’s be honest though, sometimes the down side of being home is spending so much time with my kids.  We are getting a little stir crazy and kind of sick of each other.

So tonight I stepped out for approximately 20 minutes to run an errand.  Here is what happened in the 20 minutes while the kids were in my husband’s care:  Parker made a mess in the bathroom with the new hand soap that I put in there earlier and then peed his pants.  When I heard this, I have to tell you, I laughed.  It’s just a typical 20 minutes in our house.

I saw a little boy with a shirt on that said, “My parents are exhausted”.  I almost asked him where he got it but I don’t think he was old enough to talk.

So I have around 3 weeks left of my vacation before the real world slaps me in my face.  I’m going to keep living it up.

To my teacher friends:  I hope you are having as much fun as I am.

To my non-teacher friends:  Maybe you should consider a job change.

 

Leave a Reply

