Snacks for everyone!

I love organization. The Container store is so fun!

There’s one problem. I, by nature, am a mini-tornado.

Another problem is that my wonderful husband is a neat freak! This makes for some problems in our household.

I have to say that we have both come a long way. I have gotten better at picking up after myself and Blake has chilled out a little.

Back to organizing, if an organization project can team up with making life easier for my kids, that is the ultimate.

So today I took the time to work on a little project that I have been meaning to do for awhile. It’s not a mind-blowing concept but I’m so excited for how it will help make my kids a little more independent.

I have had a snack basket in my pantry for awhile. This is supposed to be a central place where my kids can go get snacks. It’s a great idea but it became a dumping ground and was a mess.

So here’s how I made it work for me…snack sized ziplock bags.

20120702-133214.jpg
I made kid-sized snacks into these baggies and put them all in the basket. Now the kids can grab a snack and not make a mess or take a whole box of crackers to eat until they ruin their dinner.

I put a gift bag beside the basket. My hopes are that empty baggies can go back in this gift bag and I can reuse them.

Then I took it a step further. What about snacks that are in the fridge? Easy. I designated a spot in the fridge for these snacks too.

20120702-133555.jpg

I’m sure I’m the only one that finds a box of graham crackers in the back of the pantry that are old, old, old. That drives me crazy! I’m hoping this will help me not waste snack food and give the kids more options.

I think it’s going to be important to have variety.

We’ll see how it works.

What organizational tips do you have to help make your life with kids easier??

One thought on “Snacks for everyone!

Leave a Reply

