Making Life Easier

Today is a good day.  The first thing that made it a good day was the fact that I had dinner waiting in the crockpot when I got home.  That always makes your day better.  And the icing on the cake is that the contents of the crockpot will help make many meals to come easier as well.

I wait until the fryer chickens go on sale at the grocery store, I mean really on sale, and then I buy several of them and stick them in the freezer.  As I need them, I take the chicken out of the freezer and let it defrost.  Then, I stick it in the crock pot.  This is so easy!  I put it in the crockpot with a little water and whatever seasonings I feel like that day.  I cook it on low for 8 hours.

When I get home, I have this scrumptious chicken just waiting for me at home.  Pull together some kind of potato or rice along with a vegetable and some sort of bread and we have quite the meal in front of us.

After our meal, I take the rest of the chicken and shred it up.  I put it in Ziploc bags and put it in the freezer.  The next time I want to make chicken enchiladas or anything that takes shredded chicken, I have chicken ready to go.  It is such a time saver!

Now, the next time the fryers are on sale, take a couple but please leave me some!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

