It was a cold and rainy night

But the story starts way before that cold and rainy night…

When I was a girl, a very wise preacher told me to start praying for the man I was going to marry.  I did pray for him.  Lots and lots of prayer.  I sometimes doubted what God was doing in my life because I thought I had a better plan, but He knew what He was doing.  He was preparing me for the man He had for me.

I had moved to Nevada and lived here for awhile before a great lady decided to set me up on a blind date.  Now, let me tell you, when you are the single girl in a small town, everyone wants to set you up.  Am I right single people?  I like an adventure so I went for it.

I remember the first night Blake ever called me.  I had been to a ladies ministry meeting for church and at that meeting that great lady asked me if she could give this guy she knew my number.  I said, sure what do I have to lose?  After I got home that night, I was talking to my friend, Bonnie, on the phone when I got another call from “Blake Hertzberg”.   Wow, she must have run right home and called him!  Nope, Blake decided to call me on his own because she had been talking to him as well.  Now later I would find out from Blake’s friends just how out of character for him that was.

We talked on the phone that night and decided to meet.  I remember our first date was on a Wednesday night and the reason I remember is because I remember sitting in a bible study and not thinking about anything except the fact that I was going on a date when I got out of there.  We went to dinner and through more conversation I realized this was a really great guy and I had a lot in common with him.

That weekend I had a road trip already planned to that wonderful preacher man who had given me such great advice as a girl.  I think I talked to Blake on my cell phone for the full 7 hour trip home.

I knew pretty quick that I thought Blake was pretty great.  I’m not sure what his problem was…but it took him a little longer.

I won’t even tell you the story of our 1 year anniversary of dating and how he gave me a really stupid gift that led me to believe I was going to get a ring but didn’t…

We finally got engaged and had a pretty short engagement…4 months.  Why wait?  It was a very stressful time in our life.  I tend to believe that weddings bring out the evil in people.  This was no exception.  Hard times only brought us closer though.

We got married on a very cold and rainy March 13 and then took off to a great trip to Jamaica.

I’m sure glad God had a plan for me because I know that His plan is SO much better than anything I would have planned for myself.

I married the most kind, hardest working, best dad, great gift giver, best organizer, sweetest guy I have ever met, just to name a few of his characteristics.  We have a great little family and we work hard to have a great life.  We are some of the most blessed people in the world and we know it.

Happy anniversary, Blake.  These past 8 years have been fun, hard, quick and wonderful.  We have lost 2 grandparents and 1 great friend.  We have learned to lean on each other in good times and in bad.  We have created 2 of the cutest, funniest, wildest kids I have ever met (and I have met a lot of kids!).  Those kids have taught us patience, made us laugh, drove us crazy, and taught us a deeper love than we have ever known.  I’m so glad that I’m in this journey with you.  I look forward to the next 80 years with you and eventually we might even be able to take our children to a restaurant without embarrassing us!  I love you!

Leave a Reply

