God’s timing

Isn’t is funny how God knows just what you need and he shows you whether it is through a song, a random conversation, a billboard, etc.?

My post from yesterday was pretty much, “Woe is me, please feel sorry for me.”  Which is how I was feeling.  My crazy kids are driving me over the edge.  Literally?  No, I’m not driving anywhere, but I had had enough.

Today I went to work and I did what I do when I need to think, I straightened nonfiction shelves.  Laugh if you want, but I have found that when something is really getting to me, if I go back to the nonfiction shelves and organize, straighten and whatnot, it clears my head and helps me get a clearer picture of what is going on with my problem of the day.

As I was straightening, I came up with a game plan.  I came up with a conversation to have with Paige on how to get her under control and I came up with a game plan of how to take back control concerning Parker.  I was feeling good about it all.

As I was sitting at my desk, working on some much needed computer work, a student came in for a simple question.  “Is my book overdue?”  Now this student is one who frequents the library a lot.  I have come to love her and look forward to when she comes in because she is quirky and fun and full of energy.  Somehow her little question about her library book, turned into her telling me all about her life story.  And what a life story it is!  This quirky, sweet, happy young lady has had more junk happen to her than a Lifetime movie.  It is amazing that she has overcome so many obstacles in her short life.

After I made sure she wasn’t skipping class, we continued our conversation.  I say we but really, I just let her talk.  She told me all about her family and the things she has endured and overcome.

Here’s the thing…until several years ago, I really thought that all families were like the family I grew up in.  I thought everyone lived a Leave It To Beaver kind of life.  I had no idea what was going on in many homes across my town.  Even as a grown up, I really had no idea of what some of my students deal with every day until I taught a girl who was on homebound.  This girl didn’t have a place to do her homework while she battled cancer.  It was an eye opening experience for me.

After my little friend left the library, it was like God just laughed in my face and said, “And you think you have problems.”  My family’s issues of tantrums and not going to bed are minuscule compared to what some of my students go through every evening.  So Paige made a scene at the dentist…we’ll apology.  So Parker didn’t go to bed when I thought he should…he was still bright eyed and cheerful this morning.  I still have healthy kids who are good kids most of the time.  I’m still going to have a conversation with Paige and I’m still going to try some new strategies to get control of Parker but I need to keep my eye on the bigger picture.

Thank you God for helping me get my perspective on things.  That young lady walked through my door and helped me see the realities of life.

I love my job!

Leave a Reply

