Please don’t jinx me!

I have been toying with the idea of potty training Parker for quite awhile now.  I was all set to try it over Christmas break but when I asked him about it, he wasn’t interested.  If you have met Parker, you might have noticed he is very head-strong and stubborn (along with loveable and so stinkin’ cute).  If he wasn’t in, I wasn’t trying, so I stalled.

Paige was potty trained completely by the time she was Parker’s age.  With Paige we had one hectic day which ended with me calling my friend and saying, “She wet all 20 pairs of panties today!”  My friend assured me that I was on the right track and by 3 days later, she was trained.

I have been dreading potty-training Parker because all you wise mothers of boys have told me how hard it is and how long it takes and really, I don’t know how to go to the bathroom with that equipment so can’t I just put Blake in charge of it?

Well yesterday morning Parker decided he wanted to wear pull-ups.  We had several errands to run around town so I just figured fine, whatever it takes to get out of the house.  Several times I asked him if he needed to go potty.  (Paige would have said yes at every opportunity because she just likes to see new bathrooms)  When we got home, I realized he was still dry!  And he stayed dry all day even visiting the potty several times succesfully!

Today we tried it again and he has had another successful day!  No accidents besides naps and overnight!  I am amazed!  I have been dreading this day and my smart little boy just decided he was done with diapers and it looks like we might be done with diapers!

I know some of you are shaking your heads and thinking that my journey is not going to be this easy.  Tomorrow will be a whole new day.  You might be right and if so, I will just go with it.  But I have very much enjoyed not changing diapers for the last two days and I am going to live in rose-colored glasses.

I think my little crazy boy is just stubborn and head-strong enough to decide he just doesn’t want to have diapers anymore.  I’m sure it has nothing to do with the toys we found at Walmart that I have bribed him we will go back and buy when he is done with diapers for good.  I’m sure it has nothing to do with the fact that I have always said I will never take diapers to Disney so if they want to go, we better start using the toilet.  Or the super cool underwear he gets to wear.

It has been a lovely weekend at my house!

Leave a Reply

