Too many books…not enough time

I bought myself a new toy right before Christmas.  I had been saving my birthday and Christmas money for awhile in hopes to get an iPad but I did my research, weighed the pros and cons of what I needed a tablet device for, and realized that for a fraction of the cost, I could get a Kindle Fire and be happy with it.

I had an original Kindle for quite awhile.  I don’t get to read it as much as I would like because of my obligations to the Truman Award committee but every now and then I have enjoyed reading on my Kindle.

I enjoy my Kindle Fire.  I think that what for the reasons I wanted a tablet, it works great for me.  I was a little disappointed when I realized it didn’t have 3G capabilities.  I just figured it would since my original Kindle did, but I’m getting over that.

The main reason I decided to jump the gun and purchase my Kindle Fire was because my public library started checking out Kindle books!  Here is a way I could still read the books I’m obligated to read but can use my Kindle and I don’t have to purchase the books!  Unfortunately, my original Kindle was not compatible with this program…

I have checked out books using the library’s online collection.  It has been wonderful.  Now I have to warn you that there are waiting lists for some of the popular titles and you only have 7 days with the e-book whether you finish it or not, but neither of these things really bother me too much.  It allows me to read the books I need to read and use my Kindle at the same time.

Ever since I got my original Kindle, I have always perused Amazon’s website looking for interesting free books.  I have added hundreds of books for free!  Some are good, some aren’t so great.  I’m a sucker for a bargain.

A couple weeks ago one of my good friends told me about to websites that show you which books are free on Amazon for your Kindle.  This doesn’t require all the research I used to do and you can read a little bit about the book to see if it’s something you are interested in.

These websites are:

www.ereadernewstoday.com

www.pixelofink.com

Both of these websites are great to use when finding free books that you will actually read.  The other great thing about them is that some of these books are only free for a limited time.  I have set up a routine where I check the websites daily (You can also sign up for daily email announcements or follow them on Facebook) and if a title looks good, I add it to my Kindle to save for a rainy day.

Take a look at these websites.  I think you will be pleasantly surprised!

Leave a Reply

