2012–Ready or not here we go!

A new year! A new beginning! I love the new year! I also take advantage of the new year feel in August when I start a new school year so I get two new starts and believe me, I need them!

I love to make New Year’s Resolutions and most of the time they don’t make it past the middle of January but it’s fun to dream about my perfect life. I’ll share some of my crazy thoughts with you and then maybve I can be held accountable til, hmmm I don’t know maybe February? 🙂

I want to do a better job of sending cards to family and friends for birthdays and anniversaries. Maybe even just an “I’m thinking of you card”. The first order of business to make this happen is to get a list of everyone’s special days since I have been a slacker and don’t even know them. I have to admit this resolution is one I try to do every year. If you have a birthday/anniversary in January, you have a good shot of getting mail from me. December birthdays, sorry! I’m going to try to do better.

Monday morning starts a very important annual event at work. The initial weigh in for BIGGEST LOSER! We get pretty competitive at my school each January to see which team can win the big pot of money! (It’s really not that big but we are educators) I have big motivations to make change in my life to push my team to victory this year. Quit eating junk, move more, all those basic things. I’m not fooling myself into thinking I’m going to get up at 5am and run or go to the gym every day but I do have some small manageable goals in mind.

Menu Planning–This is something I do pretty good at most of the time but then fall off the wagon from time to time. I like to sit down, usually on the weekend, and plan out our meals for the week. Then I like to go grocery shopping for what I need so I don’t have to drag my very uncooperative kids to the store after work each day. (I’m pretty sure Parker is going to be kicked out of Walmart soon.)

Along the same lines as menu planning, I want to be more creative in my cooking. I tend to go to the old standbys and while they are good, I want to spice it up a little and with the help of Pinterest, I feel I am up for the challenge.

Then of course I think about the many many books that are sitting in a box in my bedroom and I think I should probably resolve to get those read quickly but it will happen, it does every year. I always make my deadlines. Believe it or not!

Professionally, I want to keep finding creative ways to get kids excited about reading. I have been reading an excellent book called, “Igniting a Passion for Reading” by Steven L. Layne. (This is amazing because most of the time I very much dislike nonfiction reading) This book gets me excited to be a librarian. It is chock full of good ideas for teachers and librarian. I suggest you get your own copy and read it TODAY! He is a mastermind and I get to meet him in April! I got a little sidetracked…I want to continue to be an asset to the great teachers I work with and help them wherever they need me to help.

As you can see my list is pretty full. I figure I put it all out there and if I can just do one or two of these things this year, I always have next year to continue my quest.

Do you have resolutions? How do you stick to them?

Have a great start to what I’m sure is going to be a great year! Happy 2012!

Leave a Reply

