2011 Recap

You knew it was coming…a look back on the past year.  2011…where have you gone?  The good, the bad, the ugly, it’s all here.

The first thing that comes to mind is the world lost a great man during 2011.  Blake’s grandfather passed away in February.  Bob was one of the most God-fearing, honorable men I have ever had the pleasure of knowing.  He was a tough, gruff old farmer but had a heart of gold who loved his family and God more than anything.  His dry sarcastic sense of humor had me giggling inside my head many times when other people didn’t realize he was joking.  He would force you into seconds at family dinners and make the kids and dogs more hyper than anyone else.  I know without a doubt that Bob is in the presence of God causing all kinds of ruckus in heaven but he is still missed around here.

On a happier note, one of the most happy, emotional days of my life happened in March when my family headed to Colorado to welcome my brother home from Iraq.  All of the news stories about soldiers coming home have always made me tear up anyway, but I lost my marbles the minute my brother marched into that gymnasium.  I will always remember that first hug I got.  Man, I missed that big Nerdboy!

A girls’ trip to Texas to visit some of our childhood friends was definitely another hot spot of the year!

The kids and I flew to Ohio to visit my grandparents.  We had a great time with family and friends.

The kids grew…oh how they grew!  Parker turned into a little boy with opinions and ideas.  It’s not uncommon to find in on top of furniture now when I have no idea how he got there!  He has turned from a  baby to a kid.  Now if we could just kick those pesky diapers!

My baby girl, Paige, somehow became old enough to go to KINDERGARTEN!  Paige has really turned into quite the young lady!  I have seen her move from a preschooler who was shy and unsure of herself to a school girl who is so excited to learn to read.  Paige has also turned into a very kind, thoughtful young lady.  She told me the other day that her brain turned around and she decided to be nice.  I am very proud of the young girl she is becoming.

Personally, this has been a year of big changes for me.  I decided to quit trying to be what I thought others wanted me to be and just be happy with what God was giving me and roll with the punches.  I am one of the most blessed people I know.  I have a great family, great job, great friends, I have nothing to complain about.  I worked hard on removing drama from my life and not falling into the deception of having to be like the “cool kids”.  I knew these changes needed to happen but I had no idea how they would affect my life or attitudes.  I find myself having more compassion for people and giving of my time and resources much more easily.  As the transition of my mind continues, I am excited for what God has in store for me.

As the year 2011 ends, I’m looking forward to a fresh start in 2012.  You can be anticipating a blog about the changes that need to happen in the new year.  Overall, we have had tears and laughs in this great year of our Lord and I am satisfied with how it has gone.

I pray the Lord blesses you and your loved ones in the new year.

One thought on “2011 Recap

Leave a Reply

