Paula Deen and Pumpkin…need I say more?

Once upon a time I didn’t really know anything about cooking.  While Blake and I were dating, he would come pick me up at my house each night to hang out at his house and then bring me back for my 10:00 curfew.  (We were actually really strict about that curfew)  While I would wait for him to pick me up I started watching a little girl named Rachel Ray.  Now this was in 2003ish so she was not the big name celebrity she is today.  I credit Rachel Ray for teaching me how to cut things up and to modify a recipe to work for you.  The only downside is that I don’t like most of what Rachel Ray cooks…

Bring on Paula Deen.  Now Paula and I could be good friends.  I knew I needed to learn more so for my 30th birthday, I went to visit her.

After spending some time with Paula and her brother…

That picture is real, by the way…

So it was no surprise to me that when I was looking for a great dessert to take to Thanksgiving dinner, I turned to my old friend, Paula.

I give you…drumroll please…

Gingerbread Pumpkin Trifle

  • 2 (14 oz) packages of gingerbread cookie mix
  • 1 (5.1-ounce) box cook-and-serve vanilla pudding mix
  • 1 (30-ounce) can pumpkin pie filling
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 teaspoon ground cardamom or cinnamon
  • 1 (12-ounce) container frozen whipped topping
  • 1/2 cup gingersnaps, optional

Directions

Bake the gingerbread according to the package directions; cool completely. Meanwhile, prepare the pudding and set aside to cool. Stir the pumpkin pie filling, sugar, and cardamom into the pudding. Crumble 1 batch of gingerbread into the bottom of a large, pretty bowl. Pour 1/2 of the pudding mixture over the gingerbread, then add a layer of whipped topping. Repeat with the remaining gingerbread, pudding, and whipped topping. Sprinkle of the top with crushed gingersnaps, if desired. Refrigerate overnight. Trifle can be layered in a punch bowl.

This trifle is AWESOME!!!  You have to try it!

 

Leave a Reply

