Breaking the rules

I am a rule follower.  I learned pretty early on that if I broke the rules, I was the one that was going to get caught so I quickly became a rule follower.
This was first apparent to me on a Friday or Saturday evening when my parents sent me to pick up pizza for dinner.  We didn’t have delivery back in those days.  I very innocently took one cruise (remember cruising?) through Sonic on my way home and as soon as I walked in the door, my dad knew I had drove through Sonic.  How did he know that?  I have no idea.  It must be supersonic powers that I will get when my children become driving age, but he knew.
The ONLY time I let my college roommates talk me into going to a party, it turned out to be a party thrown by guys from my hometown.  When I walked in the door one of them dropped his beverage of choice and shouted, “I’m calling your dad!”  I turned around and went back to the dorm.  See?  I always get caught.
Because I’m a rule follower, I have always pretty much done what is expected of me.  I took the hard classes in high school, no cooking or lifetime sports for me.  I went to the college that was expected and got the expected degree, elementary education.  I graduated early and got pretty good grades because that’s what I was supposed to do.  Got a job, got married, had kids, it all fit right into the “expected” thing to do.
Well I wish I had the guts to do something very unexpected.  I would love to go for a dream and not worry about the consequences or what others might thing of my decisions.  That is not me.
If I were that type of person (and money grew on trees) here is what I would be doing right now.  I would turn in my resignation at my job and buy this cute little house that is for sale in town.  I would open a bed and breakfast and cater to our local college alumni and families.  I would throw caution to the wind (and my college degrees) and spend my days making pastries for my guests to snack on and decorating my cute little bed and breakfast.  I would meet interesting people and live a life that I have read about in books…fiction books.  Don’t fret though…I’m not going anywhere.  I will be in my little library making students’ dreams come true for the next 12-17 years.
I was thinking about this the other day and about how nice it would be to be able to make a decision based solely on what I “wanted” to do and not what I “have” to do.  I realize that Blake and I did just that several months ago and it was one of the best decisions we have ever made so maybe we should be WILD more often!

Side Note:  While writing this blog, I realized that I have taught more years than I have left until retirement which makes me super happy and old at the same time!

Leave a Reply

