A no-kids weekend

What?  A weekend away from our children?  Yes, I believe we will sneak away for the weekend.  Thanks for asking!

After safely transporting our children to my parents’ house, Blake and I were off on a no-kids weekend.  We got a later start than we wanted because Data Day is so important.  After stopping in Columbia for an awesome dinner that did not include wrestling a child or reminding a child of table manners…we were off to the big city of St. Louis.  On the way into St. Louis we discussed all the cool things we could do that night after we found our hotel, but let’s be honest.  We are old so after checking in, we went right to sleep.

  

Pretty swanky, huh?  What they don’t tell you is that the hardwood floors in each room make it perfect to her the older gentleman in the room next to you.  That’s right folks, you can even  hear his footsteps!!

Saturday morning we woke up, filled up on the hotel’s breakfast buffet and off we went!  Our destination…

This is funny for a lot of reasons.  I do not drink nor have any desire to do so in the near future.  I just thought if this were truly a no-kids weekend, we should do things we couldn’t do with the kids…hence we head to the brewery.

During the tour of the brewery, I took close notes.  Here are the things that I learned in no particular order:

  • Anheuser’s daughter married Busch.  (I always think quirky history facts like that are interesting)
  • The chandeliers in the brewery (and there were many) were bought at the 1904 World’s Fair!
  • During the prohibition era, when many breweries went out of business, AB stayed open selling pop and ice cream
  • There was a school house in the middle of the brewery property that they eventually bought because I think we can all agree that’s not the best place for a school
  • They mulch the beech wood that they use and give it to local parks to use

That’s right, I learned nothing about beer or how it’s made.  Actually the smell of the place made me literally sick to my stomach.  If you are interested in how beer is made, please see the following picture.  Any questions?  And no, I did not have any free samples at the end of the tour.  You couldn’t pay me to touch the stuff, but I did enjoy pretzels and Sierra Mist.

After our “exciting” tour, we got down to some semi-serious shopping…Blake was just as excited about the shopping as I was about the brewery.  And then on to the real reason we traveled across the state.

One of Blake’s fraternity brothers got married to a lovely girl.  It was a very fun, unique ceremony.  The wedding party played kazoos during one of the songs.

The ceremony was at The Contemporary Museum of Art

And the reception was held at The Third Degree Glass Factory

The faucets in the bathroom were so cool!  They were made out of blown glass.

I think we can all agree that the entire thing was way too cool for me.

Besides the super-fun atmosphere and the wedding that just spoke volumes about who the bride and groom were as people, I got to meet lots of Blake’s college friends (most for the first time).  We had a really great time, they are great people and I hope we get to hang out soon.

After the reception, Blake and I headed back to our “awesome” hotel where we got to jam to the music from the wedding reception that was happening 5 FLOORS BELOW US for awhile.  It was wonderful.

We had a much needed break from our kids and had a great time together.  I’m so lucky to not just have a great husband who helps around the house and is a great dad, but he is also my best friend and we have so much fun together.

 

 

Leave a Reply

