Homemade Applesauce

I had an unexpected couple of days off this week.  Yesterday I was tied up playing nurse but today my patient is doing much better so I was able to get to work on a project that I have been thinking about for awhile.

I have wanted to make homemade applesauce for quite some time.  I thought my plan was crushed when I found out that our local orchard didn’t have any apples this year due to a late frost last spring.  Then I heard that one of the greenhouses got several bushels of apples in.  To my delight, my favorite delivery guys were headed that way yesterday so while I sat home with my sick girl, the guys picked up a bushel of apples for me.

I have a lot of ideas for these apples so you can wait in anticipation for my next installment.

Today I made applesauce.  I looked at several different recipes and then decided I would just play with it and see how it turned out.

I cut and peeled some apples.  I’m not sure how many but I decided to make a small batch until I was sure this was something my kids would eat.  I found the easiest way to prepare the apples was to use my apple cutter thing with the different sections in it (I’m so technical!) and then peel each slice.  I’m sure there is an easier more time efficient way but I’m not too good with a knife so this was the plan to keep me from cutting a finger off.

As I cut up the apples, I threw them in a big pot with a little bit of water.  Throughout the day there were several interruptions so I’m not sure how long they cooked but they started turning mushy so I figured that was a good thing.  (Maybe the title of this should be The Idiot’s Guide to Making Applesauce)

When it was good and mushy, I threw it in the food processor to get it nice and smooth.  (I like chunky applesauce but I’m in the minority in my house)  When it was nice and smooth, I put it back in the pot and added sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg.  I don’t have any measurements for this.  I just added and kept tasting it.

When it came to a boil, I put it in freezer-safe containers.  You could can it as well but I had some freezer containers that I wasn’t using and some room in the freezer so that’s what worked best for me.

If you have some apples laying around, I would suggest making your own applesauce, especially if you have little kids.  This applesauce is super yummy!  I’m planning on making another batch maybe later today because I can see that this batch is not going to last long around here!

 

Leave a Reply

