Phil. 4:6

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God  -Philippians 4:6

When I was little, I worried about everything.  Every time there was a thunderstorm, I made my brother come with me to the basement to play because I just knew there was a tornado coming.

I worried that our car would blow up into tiny pieces while on family vacations (Appleberry family vacations…definitely a blog topic for the future) because our car was overheating or Dad was taking the sign that said Smokey Mountains seriously because our van was smoking.

Sometimes on a hot summer night, there would be a flash of heat lightning and I would go to my parents’ room and knock on the door, just to make sure the rapture hadn’t happened without me.

I snooped at my Christmas presents because I was worried that I would hurt someone’s feelings if I didn’t like their gift so I should practice my “Oh, that’s just what I wanted” face.

I worried about what college I should go to, who I should marry (that was a big one), where I would get my first job, if I really wanted to be a teacher (guess what?  I didn’t!), where I would live, and on and on the list goes.

Somewhere along the way I realized that I shouldn’t worry.  I’m sure some smart Christian influence in my life showed me this verse.  We have all read this verse but that doesn’t stop us from worrying.

Somewhere along the way I realized that God has never let me down.  If I trust Him, His way is always best.  Will I love every minute of the journey?  Nope.  Will I lose sight of where I’m headed?  Probably.  But I can always look at the road God has taken me on and I can see time and time again that He is in control and He knows what is best for me.  I’m so glad He is.  If I were in control, I know without a doubt I would have a horrible life.  What I thought I needed and what I actually need are completely different.

Did you know that worrying is a sin?  You are basically telling God that you don’t trust that He will take care of you.  Guess what?  He’s going to take care of you.  He never said the road would be easy.  I promise that it won’t be.  He isn’t going to forget about you and He really does know what’s best.

Do I ever worry?  Not much.  I know that sounds crazy.  If I do worry about something it eats me alive until I can remember to give it to God.  Think about it.  What does worrying accomplish?  It doesn’t change the outcome.  It doesn’t make you feel better.

I have no idea how or when this change came over me.  I wish I could give you the formula to stop everyone from worrying.

What do you worry about?  What would it take for you to give it to God and let Him take care of it so you have more time for prayer, bible study and Words with Friends?

One thought on “Phil. 4:6

  1. emacteaches says:

    I was just having this conversation tonight. David Platt said in his Secret Church simulcast last Spring that somehow we look at a world he has created, a savior he has sent, and a life he has blessed yet we still say “God, I think I know a better way.” We are so flawed sometimes. Great blog post Amy!

Leave a Reply

