What a day!

I have accomplished a lot today!

Yesterday I got a phone call that one of my favorite farmers had some corn for me!  He told me he would send several feed bags full.  I, being somewhat of a city girl, had no idea the size of a feed bag so I said Bring it on!

200+ ears of corn later, I have shucked, cleaned and froze almost all of it with my trusty sidekick Blake.  Oh the fun I drag him in to!  I am so grateful to my favorite farmers for this corn!  Thanks Tim!  One of the few things Parker will eat right now is corn so we are set for awhile!

Oh but that’s not all I did!  I have been growing cucumbers in my garden and I don’t even like cucumbers.  I do, however like Cinnamon Pickles and Paige has come to love them as well.  Since we finished the last of our pickles I had canned a couple of years ago this spring, it is time for more pickles.  There will be a blog in the future dedicated to pickles.

Still not done!  Tomorrow night we are having some more of our new favorite friends over for dinner.  I found a great recipe for Pineapple Zucchini Cake and we all remember how much I love Chocolate Zucchini Cake so I decided to try this.  All was going fine until we opened the canned pineapples I made a special trip to Walmart for today and guess what?  There were metal shavings all through the pineapples.  Not only is this crazy but it ruined my entire batter.  Of my trusty sous chef, Paige, and I went back to Walmart.  Turns out it was the second can of crushed pineapples that had been returned tonight.  If you have any Walmart brand crushed pineapples, be very careful!  Anyway, I don’t want to give away how the dessert turned out because I don’t want to ruin it for my dinner guests!

Let’s recap:  200+ ears of corn, 10 lbs. cucumbers, zucchini cake…That my friends is a full day!

One thought on “What a day!

Leave a Reply

