Ten Years Ago…

Ten years ago I moved to Nevada…

Ten years ago I was a single girl moving to a new town and new job.  I thought I had God’s plan all figured out.  Boy was I wrong and boy am I glad!

Ten years ago I was trying to figure out why I believed what I believe.  I wanted my own reasons for my beliefs and not just because my parents told me so.  I spent a lot of time of the phone with a great friend who lived across the state.  We got a lot of things figured out and I think about our conversations often.

Ten years ago I was a very judgmental person who thought I was pretty great.  I still have strong beliefs but I have learned that God loves everyone and it is His job to judge, not mine.

Ten years ago I thought I had to have all the same opinions as my mother.  Mom, I love you and you have given me a great childhood and belief system.  I couldn’t ask for a better Mom but sometimes I don’t agree with you and that’s okay.

Ten years ago I still had one living great-grandparent and all of my grandparents were alive.  I wish I could visit my Granny one more time.

Ten years ago I laughed as I walked into my library because I had no clue what I was doing.  Going into year eleven, I have figured most of it out.  There have been a lot of learning mistakes but they have been worth it.

Ten years ago I had a very naive belief of this world and I had no idea that my security would be shaken to the core in just a few short months.  My life and my family was forever altered on September 11, 2011.

Ten years ago I didn’t know how to cook very well.  My best friend told me she needed to teach me how to cook to “make me more marketable”.  Thanks to Teresa, Rachel Ray and Food Network, I have come a long way.

Ten years ago I didn’t have DVR.  How did I function?

Ten years ago I had a house full of hand-me-down furniture.  I didn’t know the Lazy Boy was headed my way.  🙂

Ten years ago I prayed every day for the man I would marry.  I had prayed for him every day since I was 12 years old.  Thanks to a few good friends who knew what I needed better than I did, I found that man I had prayed for.  I still pray for him every day and thank God for sending him my way.

Ten years ago I had no idea I had the capacity to love two little monsters as much as I do.  Our life is a roller coaster but I wouldn’t have it any other way.  I used to dream of this life when I was a little girl.

Ten years ago I moved to a new town.  I didn’t know what was in store for me.  There have been good and bad but it has been a great ride.  I can’t wait to see what the next 10 years bring.

2 thoughts on “Ten Years Ago…

  1. Teresa says:

    Comment on paragraph 4 – You still are pretty great. And you would have been quite marketable whether you learned to cook or not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

